What’s in my Birchbox? July Edition

As most of you know, I was really underwhelmed by last month’s Birchbox. It really was a mixed bag (literally!) and I knew that this month’s box was going to be a make or break box for me, as I needed to feel excited by the products again. Thankfully, my beauty box prayers were answered and this has possibly been the best box yet!

20170726_173945.jpg

This month’s theme of Summer Daze couldn’t be more perfect for the time of year as both the box design, and the products inside, have been perfect for the beautiful weather we’ve been having (ok, the beautiful weather we were having). With an impressive 6 products to try out, including the much anticipated Benefit GoGo lip and cheek tint, I’ve had a new found excitement for my beauty box delivery.

Benefit Cosmetics GoGo Lip and Cheek Tint

20170726_174244.jpg

It’s no secret that I’m not a huge Benefit fan however, on this occasion, I have to say that I’ve been impressed by both the pigmentation and wear of this product. Not only is it easy to apply thanks to the handy brush, but it also applies beautifully to the skin and remains in place all day. The pink shade is incredibly flattering on all skin tones, as it mimics a natural flush, and is a great alternative to blusher. As it’s a tint, it’s a perfect product for a no make-up make-up look, or it can be applied for a more intense look if desired. I think this is well worth the £25.50 price tag, as it is such a versatile product and would make a great addition to any make-up bag.

Benefit Cosmetics GoGo Tint (also available to Cha Cha Cha) – RRP £25.50

Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water

20170726_174217.jpg

I’m already a huge fan of Balance Me, as their products are so effective and great value for money, so I was very excited to try out their micellar water. Now I personally don’t use micellar water to remove make-up, unless you count correcting make-up mishaps, but I do use it to freshen my skin throughout the day. As micellar water is designed to trap impurities, it’s a great way to cleanse the skin without causing any irritation or drying the skin out. I also find it very handy during the summer months to keep my eyelids pollen free in a bid to reduce hayfever symptoms. The addition of chamomile, neroli and peptides within the Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water means that skin is not only soothed and appears more glowing, but the formula will also fight the signs of ageing too. This is not just a summer must-have but a product for all year round!

Balance Me Flash Cleanse Micellar Water – RRP £16.00

Percy and Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Overnight Recovery

20170726_174345.jpg

Again, Percy and Reed is among one of my favourite haircare brands and I was thrilled to receive their overnight recovery in this month’s box. This overnight treatment is unlike any others I’ve tried in the past and is nothing like a traditional gloopy hair masque. The product absorbs into the hair almost immediately and I didn’t have to cover my head, or my pillowcases, as my tresses didn’t actually feel or look any different that night or in the morning. However, the magic happens when you’ve washed your hair. As this overnight treatment works almost as a pre-conditioner, you don’t need to use conditioner when you wash your hair the following morning, which saves a lot of time and water if you have long hair like me. The results when you’ve styled your hair speak for themselves. I have thick hair, so flyaways and fizziness is a regular occurrence for me. However, after using this Percy and Reed Overnight Recovery, my hair looked and felt softer, glossier and in better condition. It doesn’t feel heavy or greasy and actually has more bounce than usual. I’ve been so impressed, that I’ve already purchased a full-sized product as I can’t imagine my life without it!

Percy and Reed Perfectly Perfecting Wonder Overnight Recovery – RRP £20.00

Native Unearthed Natural Mineral Deodorant in Coconut and Vanilla

20170726_174451.jpg

I’ve wanted to try out natural deodorants for a while now, but with so many on the market, I really didn’t know where to start! The Native Unearthed natural mineral deodorant came at the perfect time as it gave me the push I needed to try something new. I was dubious about using a balm formulation, as I expected it to be a little messy; however I couldn’t have been more wrong. The balm, which smells like summer, absorbs into the skin immediately and feels like you are wearing nothing. I tried this out when the weather was incredibly warm and to my surprise, my underarms didn’t feel sweaty and the scent of coconut and vanilla stayed all day. I’ve been using it for a few weeks now, and my underarms feel soft and not irritated at all. I was also shocked at how far the product goes, as a little certainly goes a long way. If you’re considering trying natural deodorant, then this is certainly a great place to start!

Native Unearthed Natural Mineral Deodorant (Coconut & Vanilla) – RRP £7.99

Rituals Hammam Delight Foaming Shower Gel

20170726_174110.jpg

I’ve tried a Rituals foaming shower gel in the past, so I already knew I was going to love the formulation of this one. The scent is very different to the Rituals of Sakura fragrance i’ve tried previously, but is lovely and refreshing with the scent of eucalyptus and rosemary, and you certainly feel revived after use (and I’d say it was a unisex fragrance too!). As before, my skin felt soft and the scent lingered for a while after showering. This has certainly confirmed my love of the Rituals brand and I’ll certainly be checking out more from the range as they’re great quality and value for money.

Rituals Hammam Delight Foaming Shower Gel – RRP £4.50

Nanette Lepore Eau de Parfum

20170726_174410.jpg

This scent certainly transports you to lazy summer days in the garden and epitomises this time of year with the smell of freshly cut roses and white peaches (along with cranberry and amber for good measure). Despite it being fresh and floral, with a few fruity notes, it is still quite a heady fragrance and one which could easily take you from daytime to evening. Personally, I prefer something slightly lighter in the summer, but if you’re looking to update your daily fragrance, I would highly recommend you give this a go!

Nanette Lepore Eau de Parfum – RRP £55.00

20170726_173906

I hope you enjoyed your Birchbox this month as much as I did mine! If you haven’t signed up yet, and would like to know more, then head over to www.birchbox.co.uk for all the details or feel free to drop me a message.

Take care,

Emma @ Beauty Folio x

Leave a Reply

