What’s in my Birchbag? June Edition

As you can see by the title, this month’s Birchbox looked very different as the team ditched the recognisable box in favour for a stylish cosmetic bag. Personally, I enjoyed receiving a Birchbag as a one-off, as the pastel bag itself is such great quality and due to the design and wipeable exterior, it is perfect for holiday time!

20170611_145304
I have to say that the products I received this month didn’t excite me as much as previous boxes and I felt pretty underwhelmed to say the least. However, as always, I remained optimistic that these products would turn out to be hidden gems and that I’d be blown away by the results. So without further or do, let’s get to it!
MeechNMia Brow Liner in #22

20170611_145419.jpg
I naturally have quite strong brows, so the most product I have to use on my brows is a little powder to fill in any sparse areas which are few and far between. The pencil itself, which had a cruelty free formula, is very soft. Now if you are a person who likes fully-filled in brows then this pencil is perfect for you as the soft and almost creamy texture gives a lot of pigment and blends easily. However, if you’re a person who prefers to pencil in missing brows with tiny hair-like strokes, this is not the pencil for you as it almost feels like a kohl eyeliner in texture which would be a little too smudgy for natural brows. The colour was slightly too dark for me and had slightly too much red in it but it stayed put for hours so would last the whole day without too much trouble.
MeechNMia Brow Pencil – RRP £12.99
Arrow Enhance Waterproof Eyeliner in Bright Now

20170611_145343.jpg
I’ve used a few nude eyelinersin the past which help to give a brightening effect to the inner and outer corners of the eye and I’ve been pretty pleased with the results. However, on this occasion, I didn’t feel it worked for me. The shade, which is a lovely blush pink, just didn’t show up on my waterline (as I’m quite pale-skinned). The texture was lovely and soft, perfect for lining the waterlines, however I can’t really comment any further as I couldn’t test the wear due to the fact that I simply couldn’t see it!

Arrow Enhance Waterproof Eyeliner in Bright Now – RRP £12.00
Cowshed Cow Pat Hand Cream

20170611_145439.jpg
I’m a huge fan of Cowshed products and couldn’t wait to try this hand cream out. The cream has a lovely texture, not too thick yet not watery either. It absorbs well and doesn’t leave any tell-tale signs of greasy hand-cream residue. Immediately after use, my skin felt intensely hydrated and moisturised and the lovely fresh scent was subtle and didn’t linger on my hands for too long. This has a big thumbs up from me!
Cowshed Cow Pat Hand Cream – RRP £8.00
Scrub Love – Coffee Body Scrub

20170611_145525.jpg
I’m a big body scrub fan and as a dry skin sufferer, they feature heavily in my skincare routine. I’ve tried Coffee body scrubs in the past but they are not my favourite’s due to the messy nature (and believe me, they’re really messy!). I was sent the Scrub love coffee body scrub in the coconut mango scent, which was very strong yet lovely and tropical for the summer. The pouch packaging made it easy to store however was really difficult to get the product out. The texture can only be described as bird seed which wasn’t very pleasant to use on the skin if I’m honest, the crumbly nature of the scrub lead to a lot of wasted product which simply fell off my body before I could rub it in. In all honestly, my skin did feel nice afterwards, but no better than other products which are both cheaper and less messy. Sorry Scrub Love, but this wasn’t for me.
Scrub Love Coffee Body Scrub – RRP £11.95
Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

20170611_145502.jpg
I am a real fan of dry shampoo, not only to freshen up hair but also add texture and volume to the roots. Amika dry shampoo really surprised me with the results, as usually talc-free formulas rarely refresh my hair at all. Not only did this boost my roots and make my hair look freshly washed, it also gave it incredible volume and bounce without the tell-tale talc residue (it also smells amazing!). Will I switch from my faithful high-street dry shampoo? Probably not. Even though I enjoyed using this, I feel the price puts me off using it throughout the week. I will however be keeping a can of this at home in case of special occasions when I want to guarantee that my hair won’t have any talc-residue!
Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo – RRP £20.00

20170611_145202
This month was a really mixed bag for me (literally!). Would I love a Birchbag every month? No. It is a great novelty for one month but it does limit you to the product sizes you receive. I also missed a box as I use them for storage and a bag just doesn’t have the size capacity to store items. I have to say that my disappointing products came out of the blue this month, as I had always been so impressed with the product selections since I joined in January. I’m hoping that next month will re-ignite my Birchbox love or it might mean I’ll be saying goodbye to this beauty-box favourite.

Take Care,
Emma @ Beauty Folio x

20170611_145304

One thought on “What’s in my Birchbag? June Edition

Leave a Reply

