What’s in my Birchbox? April Edition

 

It’s Birchbox time again folks and this month’s box has certainly been a triumph. The collaboration with British clothing brand Boden means this month’s box design, in one of the retailer’s key prints, is bold and incredibly stylish. All five products featured in this month were perfect for me and featured two products that were on my wish list, so I really couldn’t have asked for more!

 

Remember, if you’d like to know more about Birchbox, including prices and a service run-down, then you can check out my very first unboxing here.

 

Now on to the products…

 

Item One: Manna Kadar Cosmetics – Radiance Split Pan Bronzer and Highlighter Duo

20170429_101709

 

This is the first time I’ve heard of the Manna Kadar brand but I have to say, I was really impressed by the brand ethos as well as the product itself. All Manna Kadar products are paraben free, cruelty free, vegan-friendly and allergy tested.   As someone who has pale skin, I was concerned at first by the colour of the bronzer, yet on the skin the shade is significantly lighter than its appearance in the pan (but don’t let it fool you, it is still very pigmented and buildable!). Due to the shade of the bronzer, which has a velvety finish, it is great for creating definition as well as giving a healthy glow. However, I have to say that the highlighter is the shining star of this duo. The champagne hue of this highlighter gives a beautiful iridescent glow to skin without being too sparkly and would be flattering on every skin tone. The light bounces off the colour well and a little goes a long way. You can also use both colours singly, or mixed together, to create a bespoke eyeshadow (or foiled eyeshadow with a dampened brush). I’m sure it won’t be long until this is joined by another Manna Kadar product in my make-up bag!

 

Manna Kadar Cosmetics Radiance Split Pan Bronzer and Highlighter Duo – RRP £17.00

 

 

 

Item Two: Nip + Fab Colour Correcting Concealer – Terracotta

20170413_193142

 

I have been dying to try the new Nip + Fab cosmetics since their release and am so pleased to have received their terracotta concealer in my April Box. If you don’t know about colour correcting then you are missing out. Certain colours when used as a pre-base can neutralise unwanted tones on the skin before flesh-coloured base products are applied. Colour-correcting isn’t for everyone, and it is only really necessary when intense colours on the skin show through your normal make-up. The colours available in the Nip + Fab range are perfect for covering up common skin problems such as  redness (green), dullness in olive skin tones (yellow), dark circles (orange) and unwanted yellow undertones (lilac). The terracotta shade, which helps to neutralise the dark-purplish colours under the eye area, was perfect for me as my dark circles have extreme pigmentation which is very difficult to camouflage with make-up. The formula itself is really easy to work with and isn’t drying on the skin at all. The addition of a brush to dispense the products makes for simple application and it blends out nicely and doesn’t cake at all. The appearance of my dark circles was greatly improved and my slightly-sunken under eye area looked lifted. I can’t wait to try more from the Nip + Fab cosmetic range and will certainly be checking out more colour correctors in the future!

 

Nip + Fab Colour Correcting Concealer – RRP £8.95

 

Item Three: Polaar IcePure Gentle Scrub with Artic Cotton

20170429_101531

 

To be honest, I had never heard of Polaar but I can assure you that this won’t be my last encounter with the brand after using the IcePure Gentle Scrub. This product, which is highly recommended for sensitive skin, promises to hydrate, detoxify and soothe the skin while the dual peeling and polishing properties of Artic cotton eradicates dead skin cells. The scrub itself isn’t too gritty, yet it still feels like an exfoliator. The scent is different for skincare, but I have to say that I really liked it. It is reminiscent of cotton-scented candles but soon dissipates on the skin after use. The scrub left my face feeling incredibly fresh, clean and smooth. It delivered on all of its promises and I’m excited to try out more Polaar products.

 

Polaar Gentle Scrub with Artic Cotton – RRP £23.50

 

Item Four: Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray

20170429_101456

 

I have wanted to try out the award winning Dry Texturizing Spray from Oribe for some time now and couldn’t believe it when I discovered it in this month’s box. I have been using dry shampoo as a texturising spray for years and was excited to see if Oribe’s part-dry shampoo, part-texturizing spray lived up to expectations. I was surprised at how little spray was needed to refresh my hair and give it volume. Just a small spritz made my hair look freshly washed (as it absorbs oil from the roots) and the hold in the volume is insane! The formula, which doesn’t leave any residue on the hair, gives hair body as you run your fingers through it. It holds well and works perfectly when putting hair up as it gives it the essential grip needed to make a style last. The best part is that it’s safe to use on coloured and Keratin treated hair and also provides UV protection. I’m so pleased I’ve tried this iconic spray, and I have to say that I was surprised by the fantastic results. As it is quite expensive, I will probably keep this for special occasions rather than everyday use but I will certainly be keeping one on standby that’s for sure!

 

Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray – RRP From £20

 

Item Five: Baïja Paris Crème Moana in Fleur de Tiarè

20170429_101426

 

With a blend of Shea butter, cupuaçu butter, coconut oil and jojoba wax, this was always going to be a winner in my eyes as these skin loving ingredients sound perfect for dry skin. The cream has a thick, rich texture yet absorbs nicely and gives a lovely nourished look and feel to the skin. However, even though I love the product and how it makes my skin feel, I’m not a fan of the scent as it is so strong. The fragrance reminds me of summer; slightly tropical with undertones of sunscreen. This on its own is not offensive, yet the lingering fragrance on the skin (which stays on your skin until it’s washed off), is too much for me as it does get slightly sickly after a while. It’s a great product; especially if you like pungently-fragranced skincare. I personally won’t be purchasing their products with this particular scent in the future, yet I will be exploring the brand and their other ranges further as for the price, you can’t beat the quality.

 

Baïja Paris Crème Moana in Fleur de Tiarè – RRP £15.90

 

20170429_101931

 

I’d love to know what products you received in your box, or if you have any questions, leave me a comment below!

 

Take care,

 

Emma @ Beauty Folio

2 thoughts on “What’s in my Birchbox? April Edition

  1. Pingback: In lumina

Leave a Reply

