What’s in my Birchbox? January Edition

Like everyone, I love a good beauty box. Receiving a box of beauty goodies each month fills me with joy and to start 2017 on a high, I decided to subscribe to one of the biggest beauty box names in the country. Yes, you guessed it: Birchbox.

20170116_201708

What is Birchbox?

Birchbox is a monthly beauty box subscription service which not only provides you with amazing products in your box each month, but also a great rewards program in their beauty shop. It began back in 2010 by Katia and Hayley, two friends who were frustrated with the process of purchasing beauty products. With so many brands bursting onto the market all promising to achieve the unimaginable, it is difficult to find products which are tailored to you, which results in a lot of wasted time and money. Birchbox takes all the guess work out of product selection and I couldn’t wait to try my first ever box!

20170116_115705

Item One: Merci Handy Hand Cream

20170116_115547

I really struggle finding a hand cream that I like as they are often very sticky and not ideal for daytime use. However, I have to say that I’ve been impressed with the Merci Handy hand cream as it has a lovely and light texture which absorbs quickly into the skin leaving your hands feeling nourished but not greasy. I received the Flower Power fragrance, but have to say that I thought it smelt more of expensive hair products than flowers, but it wasn’t an unpleasant scent (just an unexpected one!). Despite this, the fragrance is quite light and wears off after a couple of hours. The full-sized tube is perfect to slip in your handbag so you can have hydrated hands on the go!

Merci Handy (RRP £4.90)

Item Two: Lord and Berry Conceal-It Crayon in Beige

20170116_120000

I love the idea of a concealer crayon but was concerned that it was going to be quite drying. However, the texture is soft, easy to apply and it blends beautifully into the skin. I love the precision you get from the crayon and the coverage was great and was also buildable. The shade was slightly too dark for under my eyes as I prefer something a little brighter however it is perfect for covering any blemishes and redness. I am thrilled with the results and can’t wait to try more Lord and Berry products in the future.

Lord and Berry Conceal-It Crayon (RRP £12)

Item Three: Kebelo Clarifying Shampoo

20170116_115620

With the use of intensive conditioners and hair products over the winter months, it is no surprise that hair can become dull and weighed down due to product build up. However, fear no more as Kebelo have got it covered. Their clarifying shampoo, which only needs to be used once or twice a month, certainly leaves your hair feeling clean, fresh and full of life. The formula lathers well and a small amount goes a long way. It gives your hair the detox it needs and I’ve been really happy with the results. The only downside is that it can lift hair colour, so just bear this in mind if you have coloured or highlighted hair. I will certainly be purchasing more from Kebelo as with results like this, it would be rude not too!

Kebelo Clarifying Shampoo (RRP £13.95)

Item Four: Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator

20170116_115603

Vasanti’s Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator promises to smooth, brighten and exfoliate the skin and it certainly delivers! The formula is extremely gritty and course in texture, so you only need a light touch to apply the cleanser. I have sensitive skin and often shy away from microdermabrasion cleansers such as this however, on this occasion, I’m so glad I tried it.  The grittiness of the cleanser didn’t irritate my skin at all and I didn’t experience any redness. My skin felt cleaner, smoother and looked full of life. My dry skin was greatly improved and the effects lasted for days. If your skin is in need of a boost, then this is certainly the product for you!

Vasanti Brighten Up! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator (RRP £26)

Item Five: Nuxe Prodigieux Shower Oil

20170116_115628

I am a huge fan of Nuxe products (their multipurpose oils are amazing!), and I couldn’t wait to try out their Prodigieux shower oil. The oil itself is very smooth and doesn’t feel greasy at all. Despite its cleansing properties, it didn’t leave my skin feeling tight or dry; Instead my skin had a beautiful satin sheen with only a few small flecks of golden glitter which were only noticeable in certain light. The scent is very luxurious and is maintained on the skin for several hours. This product certainly brightened my day and has added to my love of the brand.

Nuxe Prodigieux Shower Oil (RRP £10)

20170116_115452

It is clear to see that my first Birchbox was a successful purchase!  I have always been weary of a beauty box which contains products based on a questionnaire as I can’t limit all my skin concerns to one box. However, the lovely people at Birchbox have made the process so personal; it is no surprise that I love my recommended products! With the amazing drawer box design, in one of my favourite colours, it was no surprise that I signed up during January (it was clearly love at first sight!).  In the beauty box culture we live in today, we are no longer chained to our skincare routines. We can escape the same old products and venture into a world of trying before we buy; You wouldn’t buy a car before test driving it first so why should beauty products be any different?

If you can’t decide whether to take the plunge in the Birchbox world then I hope this helps. The January Birchbox was certainly a sprinkle of happiness and I can’t wait to see what other delights are in future boxes.

I’ve you received your Birchbox in January i’d love to know what you received. Just leave me a comment!

P.S Don’t forget to check out  www.birchbox.co.uk to check out the Birchbox shop, a place full of full sized beauty products at great prices for subscribers. Sign up and pamper yourself ❤

Emma @ Beauty Folio x

4 thoughts on “What’s in my Birchbox? January Edition

Leave a Reply

