Latest in Beauty – Build Your Own Beauty Box Review

I can never resist purchasing a beauty box on Latest in Beauty and on my recent visit, I opted for the big one; a 9 product build your own box full of goodies!

20161004_155104

If you haven’t heard of Latest in Beauty, you are missing out! They are an amazing non-subscription beauty box company who give you the opportunity to try an array of beauty brands at a fraction of the cost.

You can chose to purchase a collection box, which has pre-selected products in a mix of luxury sample size and full size products or you can opt to build your own box (containing either 3, 6 or 9 products). Build your own boxes start at £8.99 for 3 products, £12.99 for 6 and £16.99 for 9 and really are value for money! They also make great gifts for beauty enthusiasts as you can tailor the box to your chosen recipient.

The brand selection was fantastic as always and I couldn’t wait to get started. If you love to try different products, but don’t want a drawer of unused fully-priced lotions and potions (we all know that drawer!), then this is certainly the website for you.

So grab a drink, find a comfy spot and enjoy!

20161004_155830-1.jpg

Product One and Two: Urban Veda Soothing Toner and urban Veda Reviving Toner (Full Size)

Toner is a step many people miss out of their skincare regime but personally, I always make sure I tone after cleansing my face to ensure my pores have a really deep clean. Urban Veda Hydrating toners are my all-time favourite as they really suit my dry skin; they don’t aggravate any dry patches or make my face feel tight at all. I use the soothing toner in a morning, as the sandalwood scent is refreshing and it really lifts my mood. The reviving toner is always part of my evening routine as it is perfect for tired skin and smells amazing! It also contains Evening Primrose oil, so it is also great on more mature skin.

20161004_155635

Product Three: Malin and Goetz Mini Trio – Grapefruit Face Cleanser, Vitamin E Face Moisturizer and Lip Moisturizer (Trio of Mini’s)

I have previously added these to a Latest in Beauty box and when I saw them available again, I had to add them as they are such incredible products.

The cleanser, which is more like a face wash, makes your skin feel so clean that it actually squeaks. The grapefruit scent is pungent, but so refreshing, and is great in a morning to awaken the senses.

Now we all know the benefits of Vitamin E for the skin and this moisturiser certainly ticks all the boxes for a face moisturiser. It is a lovely light cream which really hydrates the skin making it feel silky smooth.  It works well under make-up as it actually soaks into the skin as opposed to leaving a greasy film on the surface. It is great on my sensitive skin and due to the size of the tube in this trio, I always have it in my bag as it is a perfect all-rounder.

Finally, the Malin and Goetz lip moisturizer has been my go-to lip product for a while and I don’t leave the house without it. It is a lovely clear gloss-like balm which stays put for hours. I often wear it as a lip gloss on it’s own or over lipstick, and wouldn’t be without a tube. It certainly does the job and is a life saver against the winter weather.

 20161004_155504

Product Four: Bee Good Youth Enhancing Lift and Brighten Eye Cream (8ml Travel Size)

I absolutely love Bee Good products, especially their cream cleanser, and this eye cream certainly doesn’t disappoint.  I have noticed an improvement in the appearance of my dark circles, as they do appear brighter when I’ve applied the eye cream. By adding this to my morning skincare routine, I look more awake than I actually am! It has a nice creamy texture which is lightweight and a little goes a long way! It can also be used around the lip area if desired and provides a nice base for under-eye concealer. This is a great versatile product which won’t be leaving my skincare routine any time soon!

20161004_155327

Product Five: Dr Organic Hemp Oil Intensive Eye Serum (Full Size)

I really suffer with dry eyelids, especially this time of year, and I thought I would try out Dr. Organics eye serum to combat the problem. This is a lovely non-sticky, creamy serum which is incredibly hydrating to the eye area. It’s lightweight and promises to make you look 6 years younger in 4 weeks! This is a great product if you don’t like tapping eye cream into the skin as you simply rub this one in.  I use this at night and by the morning, my eyes are smooth and ready for the day!

20161004_155456

Product Six: Caudalié VinoSource SOS thirst Quenching Serum (10ml)

After discovering the advantages of incorporating a serum into my skincare routine here, I decided to give this a go and I’m so glad I did. It is lovely and light and absorbs quickly into the skin. It is quite perfumed, but this soon dissipates as it’s rubbed in. My skin instantly felt refreshed after use and appeared less dehydrated. My skin’s moisture levels were greatly improved; so much so that I nearly forgot to use my moisturiser on one occasion! If you love other Caudaliè products, then I’m certain that you’ll love this.

20161004_155449

Product Seven: Philip Kingsley Elasticizer Geranium and Neroli (40ml)

I am already a big fan of Philip Kingsley haircare (their Daily Defence spray is amazing!), so I was very excited to try out the product that has such a great reputation. This is a pre-shampoo treatment which can be used as a 10-20 minute hair mask prior to washing or as an overnight treatment. I opted to use the Elasticizer as a pre-wash mask and it was a great addition to my pamper routine. You simply wet your hair, apply the product in sections and cover your hair with a plastic cap (or, in my case, a plastic carrier bag!) and leave it for the allocated time before washing your hair as normal.  My hair was certainly very shiny and had lots of bounce after use and felt incredibly nourished. The effect also lasted for a few washes which I wasn’t expecting and just shows how great Philip Kingsley haircare products are. This is a great pick-me-up for your locks and my thick hair appreciated the treatment!

20161004_155256

Product Eight: Kitsch Hair Ties Prima Ballerina (Full Size)

As I have very thick hair, hair bands are often too loose and just won’t hold my hair in place for longer than 30 seconds. However, these hair ties not only hold my hair in, but they also won’t damage your hair in any way. The glitter effect hair ties look cute without being childlike and they don’t shed at all. The bands hold their shape, even after use, and they double up as bracelets so you always have a hair band at hand! I also find that they don’t crease your hair too much like traditional hair bobbles and you have no fear of your band snapping as they are incredibly strong and all hand-tied.  A must-have if you have longer hair.

20161004_155520

Product Nine:  Model Co Shine Ultra Lip Gloss in Striptease (Full Size)

I’m a big fan of Model Co and I couldn’t resist adding one of their famous glosses to my box. The colour wasn’t as pink as I had expected but it is a lovely light-reflective nude. As it is light-reflective, it does have a subtle yet noticeable shimmer to it which really lifts the appearance of the gloss. It smells quite fruity, which is nice, and the small applicator makes light work of application. The packaging is sleek and lightweight and comes with a handy mirror on the side so you are always really to apply. The texture is quite sticky, which I actually quite like in a lip gloss, and because of this, it has quite a good staying power. Due to the nude colouring, which actually makes it more of a tint, it looks great on its own or over the top of your favourite lippy. For a more affordable brand, I am impressed by the product and will certainly be buying more in different shades.

20161004_155204

Bonus Product: 111 Skin Bio Cellulose Facial Treatment Mask (Full Size)

Due to the time I placed my order, there was a free gift up for grabs and I was thrilled to discover the 111 Skin Bio Cellulose Facial Treatment Mask in my box. The mask, which you use like a sheet mask, is formed in gel and had an instant cooling effect on the skin once applied (and if you prefer your masks even cooler, you can also refrigerate the mask before use). After 20 mins, my dry and lack lustre skin felt hydrated, refreshed and moisturised. My skin even looked brighter and the effect lasted for several days. I will certainly be purchasing more of these and exploring the brand further. Even though they are a more luxury/expensive product, I feel the results are worth every penny!

That’s it folks, if you managed to get to the end of this review I salute you! I have to say that this has been one of my best boxes and I was surprised how great each product was. If you’ve tried any of these products, I’d love to know what you thought of them! Also, if you have any questions about any of the items reviewed, just leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you.

Thanks for reading,

Beauty Folio x

#bbloggers #latestinbeauty #beegood #caudaliè #drorganics #kitschhairties  #malinandgoetz #modelco #philipkingsley #urbanveda #111skin

Leave a Reply

